My Father’s Favorite

My father loved children
His favorite woman to create them with was my mother
They had seven
My father’s least favorite woman to create them with
Was his ex-wife
They had three
My father’s favorite punching bag was me
After he pounded my back he turned away
Smoking his favorite brand of cigarettes
Bel Air
His least favorite car ride was driving me
To the emergency room
Doctors removed the anvil from my chest
And the cocktail straw I was breathing through
My father’s favorite thing to spend his money on
Was bottles of Dewar’s Scotch
His least favorite thing to spend his money on
Was food for his starved children
My father was a handyman
His favorite places to fix up were other people’s homes
His least favorite place to fix up was our apartment
The bathroom flooded, legions of roaches scattered
And the frayed floorboards pierced our feet
My father’s favorite road trip
Was leaving his favorite woman
And beloved children behind
My favorite thing was watching him
Pack his favorite belongings into his brown Suburban
And drive off

One response to “My Father’s Favorite

  1. Pingback: On Vantage Points | Little Man. Big Words.·

Leave a Reply

